8th June 2015 Current Affairs Updates

1) Bangladesh conferred Award of Liberation War Honour on Atal Bihari Vajpayee:
--> Bangladesh on 07 June 2015 conferred its prestigious liberation war honour on former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee for his “active role” in its independence struggle and consolidating friendship with India.
--> President Abdul Hamid handed over the Bangladesh Liberation War Honour to Prime Minister Narendra Modi at a glittering ceremony at Bangabhaban, the President’s house, which was attended by Premier Sheikh Hasina and top officials. 
current affairs 8 june 2015

2) RC Tayal appointed as new Director General of National Security Guard:
--> Senior IPS officer R C Tayal has been appointed as the new chief of the elite counter-terror force National Security Guard (NSG).
--> The 1980-batch Assam-Meghalaya cadre officer is at present serving as the Special Director General in paramilitary CRPF and is heading its formation in Jammu and Kashmir.
--> He is expected to serve as NSG DG till August 2016.
--> The post fell vacant after incumbent chief J N Choudhury retired on May 31.

3) Legendary Telugu writer Dasaradhi Rangacharya passed away:
--> Dasaradhi Rangacharya,the Legendary Telugu writer passed away in Hyderabad.
--> He actively participated in fight against the Nizam’s autocratic rule.
--> He went underground and took part in the Telangana Armed Struggle till Hyderabad was liberated.

4) India and Netherlands signed MoU for development of vaccines:
--> A Memorandum of Understanding was arrived at between India and Netherlands for development of vaccines.
--> The MoU signed under 'Make in India' initiative of Government of India will enable the Bharat Immunologicals and Biologicals Corporation Ltd (BIBCOL),a Central PSU under Department of Biotechnology, to develop Measles - Rubella vaccine at its plant at Chola, Bulandshahr, U.P.

5) Vijai Sharma appointed as new Chief Information Commissioner:
--> President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Vijai Sharma as the new Chief Information Commissioner.
--> He will have tenure of for 5 years or till they attain the age of 65, whichever is earlier. Vijai Sharma is a 1974 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh Cadre.
--> Prior to this appointment he was serving as information commissioner in Central Information Commission since 2012.
--> Meanwhile, IAS officer Sudhir Bhargava (1979 batch) has been appointed as the Information Commissioner in the commission.

6) 16th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) held in Malaysia:
--> 16th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) informally known as the “Bollywood Oscars,” was held at Malaysia.
--> The award ceremony was held in Putra Indoor Stadium Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
--> Kapoor and Kangana Ranaut snapped up the male and female awards for top performance in a leading role for the movies Haider and Queen respectively, while Direction award went to Rajkumar Hirani for PK and Vikas Bahl’s Queen was named Best Picture.

7) KV Chowdary appointed as new Central Vigilance Commissioner:
--> Former Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes, K.V. Chowdary, was on 8 June 2015, appointed as the new Central Vigilance Commissioner.
--> T.M. Bhasin, Chairman & Managing Director, Indian Bank, has been appointed Vigilance Commissioner.
--> A selection panel headed by the Prime Minister, which includes leader of the principal opposition party, and senior cabinet ministers selects the CVC.
--> The Central Vigilance Commission is headed by a CVC and comprises two vigilance commissioners.

8) World Ocean Day observed:
--> World Ocean Day 2015 was celebrated across the world on 8 June 2015 with the theme Healthy oceans, Healthy planet.
--> For the first time, World Ocean day was introduced in 1992 at Rio de Janeiro with a motive of raising awareness of people towards the crucial role that sea plays in our lives.

9) Lewis Hamilton won 2015 Canada Grand Prix of Formula 1:
--> Mercedes racing driver Lewis Hamilton of Britain on 7 June 2015 won the 2015 Formula 1 Canada Grand Prix title by winning the final race held in Montreal, Canada.

10) Momota and Ratchanok won Indonesia Open Badminton titles:
--> Japanese rising star shuttler Kento Momota and Thailand's Ratchanok Intanon won the men’s and women’s singles respectively of the Indonesia Open Badminton tournament.

--> Indonesia Open Badminton tournament was held at the Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta, Indonesia.

No comments:

Post a Comment